Skip to main content

Frequently asked questions

The answers to your questions

What does benchmark mean?

How is the benchmark calculated?

Which companies are in the comparison group?

How up to date is the score?

What do the key figures mean?

For which companies does the Compass-Benchmark exist?

How does the Compass-Benchmark differ from ratings?


What does benchmark mean?
The Compass-Benchmark is a balance sheet-based, statistically calculated grading of Austrian companies on a scale of 1 to 4-. The score provides information about the probability that a company will be unable to meet its payment obligations within a year.

The benchmark calculation is based on published balance sheets, key figures as well as the basic data of ÖNACE industry, legal form, size, federal province, company age and number of employees in the company.

The Compass-Benchmark shows how the company stands in comparison to others of the same industry and size, as well as in comparison to Austria as a whole.

How is the benchmark calculated?
The Compass-Benchmark avails itself of a range of key figures in order to calculate the probability of insolvency, in addition to the use of basic data such as ÖNACE industry, legal form, size, federal province, company age and number of employees. These provide information on the areas of active and passive structure, earnings structure as well as on corporate growth.

See also: "What do the key figures mean?"

Which companies are in the comparison group?
The comparison group contains companies of the same industry group and size.

How up to date is the score?
The benchmark and the probability of failure are created on the currently available reporting date. A new calculation is performed as soon as changes are made to the master data (e.g. industry, legal form, change of registered office or number of employees) or a balance sheet is submitted.

What do the key figures mean?
The following key figures flow into the calculation of the Compass-Benchmark. The generally made statements are based on the analysis and statistical evaluation of almost one million balance sheets at around 160,000 companies.
For which companies does the Compass-Benchmark exist?

For which companies does the Compass-Benchmark exist?
The Compass-Benchmark is prepared for Austria companies recorded in the Company Register and active on the market. The prerequisite is the availability of current balance sheets in accordance with the conditions of the Austrian Corporation Code (UGB). Listed companies, banks, foundations and cooperatives are excluded from the evaluation, as are ÖNACE departments 94, 97-99.

How does the Compass-Benchmark differ from ratings?
The Compass-Benchmark is displayed as a score using the school mark system, making it comprehensible and intuitive. The score is derived from the probability of default, i.e. from the risk of a payment default within 12 months from the date of the evaluation. Only objective and publicly accessible data are used for the calculation. The calculation model, criteria and key figures that exert an influence are – in contrast to "Black Box" rating systems – presented transparently in the Benchmark-Report and in the White Paper.

Skip to main content

Frequently asked Questions

Die Antworten auf Ihre Fragen

Was heißt Benchmark?

Wie wird der Compass-Benchmark berechnet?

Welche Firmen befinden sich in der Vergleichsgruppe?

Wie aktuell ist die Note?

Was bedeuten die Kennzahlen?

Für welche Firmen gibt es den Compass-Benchmark?

Wodurch entscheidet sich der Compass-Benchmark von Ratingbewertungen?


Was heißt Benchmark?
Der Compass-Benchmark ist eine bilanzbasierte, statistisch errechnete Einstufung österreichischer Unternehmen in einer Notenskala von 1 bis 4-. Die Note gibt Auskunft über die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass ein Unternehmen innerhalb eines Jahres seinen Zahlungsverpflichtungen nicht nachkommen kann.

Als Grundlage zur Benchmark-Berechnung dienen veröffentlichte Bilanzen, Kennzahlen sowie die Basisdaten ÖNACE-Branche, Rechtsform, Größe, Bundesland, Unternehmensalter und Anzahl Mitarbeiter des Unternehmens.

Der Compass-Benchmark zeigt, wie das Unternehmen im Vergleich zu anderen derselben Branche und Größe steht, ebenso im Vergleich zur österreichischen Gesamtheit.

Wie wird der Benchmark berechnet?
Der Compass-Benchmark bedient sich neben der Einbeziehung von Basisdaten wie ÖNACE-Branche, Rechtsform, Größe, Bundesland, Unternehmensalter und Mitarbeiteranzahl auch einer Reihe von Kennzahlen zur Berechnung der Insolvenzwahrscheinlichkeit. Diese geben Aufschluss über die Bereiche Aktiv- und Passivstruktur, Ertragsstruktur, sowie über das Unternehmenswachstum.

Siehe auch: "Was bedeuten die Kennzahlen?"

Welche Firmen befinden sich in der Vergleichsgruppe?
In der Vergleichsgruppe befinden sich Unternehmen derselben Branchengruppe und Größenklasse.

Wie aktuell ist die Note?
Der Benchmark und die Ausfallwahrscheinlichkeit werden zum aktuell verfügbaren Stichtag erstellt. Eine neue Berechnung findet statt, sobald Änderungen in den Stammdaten (z. B. Branche, Rechtsform, Änderung des Firmensitzes oder der Mitarbeiterzahl) bzw. eine Bilanzeinreichung erfolgen.

Was bedeuten die Kennzahlen?
Die folgenden Kennzahlen fließen in die Berechnung des Compass-Benchmark ein. Die getroffenen allgemeinen Aussagen basieren auf der Analyse und statistischen Auswertung von knapp einer Million Bilanzen zu rund 160.000 Unternehmen.

Für welche Firmen gibt es den Compass-Benchmark?
Der Compass-Benchmark wird für österreichische Unternehmen erstellt, die im Firmenbuch protokolliert und am Markt tätig sind. Voraussetzung ist die Verfügbarkeit aktueller Bilanzen nach Bestimmungen des UGB. Börsennotierte Unternehmen, Banken, Stiftungen und Genossenschaften sind von der Bewertung ausgenommen, ebenso die ÖNACE-Abteilungen 94, 97-99.

Wodurch unterscheidet sich der Compass-Benchmark von Ratingbewertungen?
Der Compass-Benchmark wird als Note im Schulnotensystem angezeigt, ist daher verständlich und selbstsprechend. Die Note leitet sich von der Ausfallwahrscheinlichkeit ab, d. h. vom Risiko eines Zahlungsausfalles innerhalb von 12 Monaten ab dem Bewertungsstichtag. Zur Berechnung werden ausschließlich objektive, öffentlich zugängige Daten verwendet. Das Berechnungsmodell samt Kriterien und Kennzahlen, die Einfluss nehmen, werden – im Gegensatz zu „Black Box“-Ratingsystemen – im Benchmark-Report und im White Paper transparent dargestellt.